Skip to content

The Perfect Deck

April 24, 2014

WARNING!  Sap alert!  Sap alert!  

If sappy, romantic gestures make you gag, please don’t read any further.  

If they do not, feel free to proceed…

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

So, I have about 1,000 things I am trying to accomplish before heading to China.  My head has been spinning non-stop since we received our TA.

One of those 1,000 things is to give Bryan a gift prior to my departure.  Something meaningful.

I already have gift bags prepared for Sidney, Jackson, and Morganne.  Inside of them are 15 different gifts.  On each of the 15 days that I am away in China, they get to pull out one item from their bags.  It’s just a small way for them to be reminded each day that I am thinking about them….that I haven’t forgotten them….that I love them.

But, I definitely didn’t want to leave Bryan out.

I have decided not to come up with 15 different items for him to open.  Instead, I’m thinking that just one single item will do.

The other day, something on Amazon caught my eye.  It was a deck of playing cards.  And each of the cards in the deck had a quote on it about love.

I love to play Solitaire.

Bryan does, too.

So, I thought it might be neat to get him this deck of cards so that he could play Solitaire while I am away.  After the kids go to bed each night, he will have plenty of time alone to play a few games.   And, as he does, he can read the quotes on the cards and be reminded of how I feel about him.

(I told you this was going to be sappy.  Dude, I wasn’t kidding.)

I noticed that there were four different backgrounds featured in this deck of cards.  All of them were scenes from nature.  One of the scenes pictured the silhouette of a lighthouse situated on a beautiful body of water.

Well, as you can imagine, seeing that lighthouse depicted on those cards sealed the deal for me.  I needed to buy that deck of cards.

I’m hoping that this simple gift – this perfect deck  – will prove to be very meaningful to Bryan while we are apart…

IMG_2931

IMG_2934

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2014 6:58 pm

    I love this and I think he will cherish it probably more than you know!!!

  2. Mary Jane permalink
    April 24, 2014 10:35 pm

    You are no doubt the most thoughtful, caring, loving mother and wife I know. Your family is blest by Jahovah God!

    • April 25, 2014 12:32 am

      You always have the most encouraging comments, Mary Jane. Your words always lift me up, and I thank you for that ♥

Leave a comment