Skip to content

Joni’s River

February 10, 2017
I’m compiling a special soundtrack for River, just as I did for Haven during his adoption journey. I spent yesterday afternoon selecting/gathering songs that might be meaningful to us throughout these next several months…and (hopefully) meaningful to River someday.
One of the tracks I’m including on the soundtrack is called “River” by Joni Mitchell. When I found out yesterday that she actually wrote that song about the daughter she had to give up for adoption, I knew I had to include it. I had no idea that that was the story behind the song. With that in mind, and with a new set of ears, I listened to it for the first time in years.
Made me weep.
It was beautiful before, but even more so now that I know the story behind it.
For every moment of joy that I get to experience as an adoptive mother, there are three birth mothers somewhere out there experiencing a moment of pain. I pray for them often. And I will think of them each and every time I hear this song. ♥
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

