Skip to content

If you can’t change something…

November 29, 2016

If you can’t change something, change the way you think about it.

Haven used to dread his infusion days at Riley. And so did I. Sweating and crying (mostly out of fear) were regular occurrences for him on those days. But, over time, infusion days have become much more bearable. He rarely cries anymore. He is rarely fearful of the nurses and doctors. He tries to make the most of his time spent here. And so do I.

We play. We paint. We color. We cuddle. We snack. We laugh. We watch TV. We meet and converse with fellow patients and parents who can identify with this journey we are on. We interact with nurses who, over time, have started to feel more like friends. I sit back and watch as Haven charms and blesses all who cross his path here. I watch him draw them in and brighten their spirits. I watch a little boy who comes here for healing reach out and provide healing to others. I look at the faces of parents I pass in the hallways, and I wonder what their stories are. I wonder how similar their stories might be to mine. And I take comfort in that. I encounter sweet children with bald heads and pale skin who are clearly facing much greater battles than my son, and I count my blessings.

I used to feel a certain level of pity for myself and for Haven when infusion days rolled around. But, I don’t anymore. I now look at these long days at Riley as just another chance to be blessed, and to be a blessing to others.

I can’t change the fact that my son has been dealt with a significant disease. He can’t either. But, we can change the way we think about it. And over time, by the grace of God, we have. ♡

15168789_1338866269478371_4181851773468776041_o

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

