Skip to content

True Persecution

October 13, 2016

My entire body aches when I read articles like the one you see at the bottom of this post.  These are nightmares playing out in real life. This stuff just keeps happening, and it makes me ache so deeply for my Christian brothers and sisters overseas.

There are times when I get very discouraged by the fact that, in America, poking fun at Christianity and stereotyping Christians is fair game. And it’s been fair game for a long time. It is politically incorrect to make generalizations, criticisms, or judgments about any group of people in our culture UNLESS those generalizations, criticisms, or judgments are made regarding Christ/Christians/Christianity. Anything can be said about Christians. Anything goes. And that stinks. But, then I come across a story like this, and I am reminded of what true persecution looks like.

The next time I hear false, unkind, unwarranted comments directed toward myself or others within the body of Christ, I hope to call this story to mind. Though discouraging and unjust, what we experience here as believers is just a drop in the bucket compared to what our brothers and sisters are experiencing in other areas of the world. They have my complete and utter admiration. And they certainly have my prayers…

http://www.christianpost.com/news/isis-crucifies-11-christian-missionaries-147317/

isis

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

