Skip to content

Father Knows Best

January 29, 2016

 

U,-1

I am your mother.

The one who brought you into this world.

So, please, listen to me carefully, my child.

You must slow down.  Why must you grow up so quickly?  Sometimes it pains me to watch you – my baby – grow and change right before my eyes.

But, He is your Father.

Your Heavenly Father.

The One who gave both you – and me – the gift of life.

And He says to you, “Grow!  Change!  Transform into the person that I want you to be!”

I am your mother.

The one who brought you into this world.

So, please, listen to me carefully, my child.

I ache, at times, to cradle your bald infant head once more.  I ache to bury you into my chest and smell that “new baby smell” on your body once again.

Slow down.  Stay little for just a little bit longer.

But, He is your Father.

Your Heavenly Father.

The One who gave both you – and me – the gift of life.

He tells me to look at who you have become.  He has chosen to cover your once-bald infant head with the most beautiful, flowing, red hair.  A head of hair that serves as a magnet…attracting the adoring stares of others, everywhere you go.  A head of hair that I regularly find myself pulling toward me, so that I can bury my face into its scent and plant a firm kiss.  He tells me that He must continue molding you.  And, although I didn’t think it could be possible, He is making you more beautiful as the days go by.

I am your mother.

The one who brought you into this world.

So, please, listen to me carefully, my child.

It is such a joy to raise a little one.  Such a joy.  Please let me hang on to that joy…for as long as I can.  How wonderful it is to feel your baby clinging to your body, molding in and around it until two become one.

But, He is your Father.

Your Heavenly Father.

The One who gave both you – and me – the gift of life.

He whispers to me, “You aren’t raising a child.  You are raising an adult.  Yes, enjoy the precious, priceless, fleeting moments of infancy and childhood.  But, even more, enjoy the process of watching your child’s youth slowly fade away as she blossoms into the child that I want her to be.  What joy there is to be found in that process!  How wonderful it is.  Don’t miss it.”

I am your mother.

The one who brought you the gift of life.

So, please, listen to me carefully, my child.

Don’t go too far.  Stay close.  Depend on me fully.  Let me help you.  Let me shelter you.  It’s a big, bad world out there…and I’m not quite ready to send you out into it apart from my presence.

But, He is your Father.

Your Heavenly Father.

The One who gave both you – and me – the gift of life.

He is our refuge, our shelter, our strength, and our ever-present help in times of trouble.  He is full of wisdom and truth.  He says to me, “Your greatest priority as a parent is to gradually shift your precious child’s dependence away from you…until it rests solely on Me.”  I hear those words, and my throat tightens up.  My heart aches.  Why?  Because His truths are sometimes hard to hear.  But, my goodness.  Such wisdom can be found in His words.  

I am your mother.

The one who brought you the gift of life.

So, please, listen to me carefully, my child.

Stay nestled in my soil for a little bit longer.  Let my earth surround you.  Stay hidden deep within my care.  Don’t sprout too soon!  Once you do, I fear that there will be no stopping you.

But, He is your Father.

Your Heavenly Father.

The One who gave both you – and me – the gift of life.

He tells me not to hold you back…not to keep you hidden.  He tells me to nurture the soil, in anticipation of your growth.  He tells me to be the steady rainfall that gently soaks and prepares the ground for you to burst forth in all of your splendor.  He tells me to rejoice in the arrival of Spring…to rejoice in the arrival of newness.  The newness of you.  New phases.  New growth.   New life.    

I am your mother.

The one who brought you the gift of life.

So, please, listen to me carefully, my child.

On second thought, don’t listen to me.  Not this time.

Listen to Him.

And I will listen to Him, too.

Because Father knows best.

As much as I would like to keep you little for eternity, as much as the memories of the past tug on my heartstrings, the Father tells me that I would miss out on so much if I did.  Though everything within me wants to keep you nestled closely under my wing, the Father tells me to delight in the process of watching you find your own wings.  He tells me to delight in the unstoppable truth – the hard truth – that you are growing up and changing right before my eyes.  He tells me to delight in the fact that I cannot make time slow down.  He tells me to delight in the belief that the best is not behind you and me…the best is yet to come.  He tells me to delight in the fact that humans are meant to grow, to change, to mature, and flourish.  He tells me to delight in the belief that He – our Creator and our Father – knew exactly what He was doing when He established the circle of life…as painful as it can be, at times.

I am your mother.

The one who brought you the gift of life.

So, please, listen to me carefully, my child.

Father knows best.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THE CIRCLE GAME

Yesterday a child came out to wonder
Caught a dragonfly inside a jar
Fearful when the sky was full of thunder
And tearful at the falling of a star

And the seasons they go round and round
And the painted ponies go up and down
We’re captive on the carousel of time
We can’t return we can only look behind
From where we came
And go round and round and round
In the circle game

Then the child moved ten times round the seasons
Skated over ten clear frozen streams
Words like, when you’re older, must appease him
And promises of someday make his dreams

And the seasons they go round and round
And the painted ponies go up and down
We’re captive on the carousel of time
We can’t return we can only look behind
From where we came
And go round and round and round
In the circle game

Sixteen springs and sixteen summers gone now
Cartwheels turn to car wheels through the town
And they tell him,
Take your time, it won’t be long now
Till you drag your feet to slow the circles down

And the seasons they go round and round
And the painted ponies go up and down
We’re captive on the carousel of time
We can’t return we can only look behind
From where we came
And go round and round and round
In the circle game

So the years spin by and now the boy is twenty
Though his dreams have lost some grandeur coming true
There’ll be new dreams, maybe better dreams and plenty
Before the last revolving year is through

And the seasons they go round and round
And the painted ponies go up and down
We’re captive on the carousel of time
We can’t return, we can only look behind
From where we came
And go round and round and round
In the circle game

~Joni Mitchell~

DSCF8774

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Jane permalink
    January 30, 2016 12:38 pm

    This is wonderful, Carly!

Leave a Reply

