Skip to content

A Beautiful Night

November 20, 2015
tags: ,

Art brings people together. It unites. It connects. It inspires. It heals. It speaks.

Last weekend, I watched as it did all of those things. I watched as it spoke to raise awareness for autism. I watched as it dispelled myths about those who fall on the autism spectrum. I watched as it proved that no two individuals on that spectrum are alike. I watched as it declared that autistic individuals are no less capable of achieving greatness than non-autistic individuals. I watched as it pierced the hearts of many with the truth that autism is characterized more so by what is abundant than what is lacking. I watched as it blessed dozens and dozens of guests who lovingly came out in an attempt to not only appreciate good artwork, but also to better understand the worldviews of the three young minds behind the artwork

I could go on, but the photos speak in ways that I can’t. So, I’ll let them do just that.

It was a beautiful night…in every sense of the word.

“Autism is as much about what is abundant as what is missing. It is an over-expression of the very traits that make us, as humans, unique.”
~Paul Collins

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

