Skip to content

Red, White, Blue, and Yellow.

July 5, 2014

Yesterday morning, Bryan and I began our Fourth of July celebration by heading downtown to the Firecracker Six race in Indy.

While most runners showed up in their patriotic colors, we decided to go with yellow for OI awareness because we were running those six miles for Haven. Because of him, we both have a new appreciation for the healthy, strong bodies we’ve been given. Simple things like walking and running are privileges, and there is no reason why we shouldn’t view them as such…and take full advantage of them!

In addition to celebrating the freedoms I enjoy here in American this holiday weekend, I also find myself celebrating the freedom I have to walk and run without constant fear of injuries and broken bones. After all, that is a freedom my little boy doesn’t have…and may never have.

As I do every year in honor of the Fourth of July, I find myself giving thanks for heroes of all kinds…and this year, Haven is definitely among them.

IMG_20140704_092624

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

