Skip to content

The Consulate, the Island, and the Last Day

May 21, 2014

Yesterday was an important day in our adoption journey.  It was the day that we went to the U.S. Consulate for our immigrant visa interview.  Haven’s visa has now been issued, and we received our visa packet earlier this evening.  That packet is what will allow Haven to enter the United States and become a citizen – immediately upon our arrival.

It was lightly raining as we waited in line for the interview to take place.  And, of course, it was hot.  Haven and Grace both handled the wait (both outside and inside the Consulate building) very well.  They are both troopers.

In the afternoon, our guide took us over to Shamian Island.  While we were in Guangzhou completing Grace’s adoption, we stayed on Shamian Island at the renowned White Swan Hotel.  So, it was really nice to re-visit that area, and shop at some of our favorite stores once again. Shopping here in China is pretty much awesome.  We have been able to find some amazing deals so far on clothes, trinkets, jewelry, toys, decor, and souvenirs.   I even found a new purse for myself.  It’s SO colorful, and unlike anything I have ever seen back home.  I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it…and when I discovered how inexpensive it was, I fell in love with it even more : )  Another one of my favorite finds was a wooden plaque with a bible verse written on it – in both English and Chinese.  The graphic that was pictured next to the bible verse was a lighthouse.  I grabbed that bad boy right up.  Had to get it.  It was the perfect souvenir for this journey.

Spending time on Shamian Island brought back some very special memories of my time spent there with baby Grace a few years ago.  My goodness, how time flies.  Gracie was Haven’s age when I last strolled through Shamian Island.  I clearly remember toting her around on my hip throughout those streets.  It’s so hard to believe that she is now 5 years old (going on 16!!!)

Today was our last full day in China.  It was pretty low-key.  Receiving Haven’s visa was the only business we had to take care of today.  Other than that, we just hung around the hotel for most of the day.  We had a LOT of packing to do!  And we ventured out to local restaurants for lunch and dinner.

What a great trip this has been.  We’ve made so many memories during our time here.  I have treasured them all up in my heart.

We’ve only had a few hiccups along the way.  Overall, it has been a very smooth trip.  I truly feel as though God has gone before us and made our path straight.  I pray that he will continue to do so until we are safely home tomorrow night.

I seriously cannot thank you enough (you know who you are).  For the prayers, the love, the encouragement, the emails, the phone calls, and the financial support.  God has truly worked in and through so many people during Haven’s adoption journey.  It has been awesome to see that take place, and to experience God’s care and provision – through all of you.  I have prayed many times that those who have helped us along the way will be blessed.  I am confident that God has (and will) answer those prayers.

It seems insufficient to just say two little words….but it’s all I have to give right now.  Thank you.

In some ways, this trip has flown by.  In other ways, it has not.  It seems like it has been ages since I have hugged my husband and children back home.  I cannot wait to see them again.  I miss them terribly.  And so does Grace.

Bryan, Sidney, Jackson, and Morganne….tomorrow morning we start making our way back home to you.  How great it will feel to finally be together as a family of seven.

IMG_4341 IMG_4336 IMG_4340 IMG_4343 IMG_4354 IMG_4345 IMG_4352 IMG_4353 IMG_4333IMG_4417 IMG_4415 IMG_4414 IMG_4409 IMG_4402 IMG_4398 IMG_4397 IMG_4396 IMG_4395 IMG_4390 IMG_4329IMG_4400 IMG_4403IMG_4438 IMG_4420 IMG_4423 IMG_4422 IMG_4425 IMG_4428IMG_4439 IMG_4442

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mary Jane permalink
    May 21, 2014 8:36 pm

    What wonderful memories you have made! Will pray for more safe traveling for all of you. I know that you are as anxious to see the rest of your family as they are to see you..

Leave a Reply

