Skip to content

A Piece of Home

May 17, 2014

Before we left Grace’s hometown of Wuhan several years ago, we took a small plastic bag and scooped up some of the soil to take back home with us.  I thought that this little piece of home might be meaningful to her someday.  By opening the bag, she would be able to see, touch, and smell the soil from where she came.

Just before heading off to the airport yesterday to bid farewell to Haven’s home province, we stopped by a local park to scoop up some soil to take with us.  Someday, I hope that he, too, will appreciate having this small piece of his first home in his possession.

While we were out and about, we also encountered a large group of people dancing to Chinese music.  They didn’t care who was watching.  Each couple seemed to be in their own little world.  Mothers dancing with daughters.  Husbands dancing with wives.  Friends dancing with one another.  It was a pretty cool sight to see…and the atmosphere had a really nice vibe.  Let’s just say that it isn’t a sight that I often see in America.  Okay, I’ve never seen something like that in America.  I can’t help but wonder if our culture might benefit from something like this.  We’re all about rush, rush, rush.  Never would we even consider stopping what we’re doing – right in the middle of our busy schedules – for a public dancing session in the city.  I don’t know.  Just something to think about, I guess.

On our way to the airport, our guide determined that there was a problem with Haven’s notarial certificate.  We had to rush over to the notarial office and get that small mistake fixed.  It was a bit stressful.  I could tell that our guide wasn’t happy about it at all….and she was clearly flustered by it.  But, thankfully, traffic was kind to us and we ended up making it to the airport on time for our flight to Guangzhou.

Haven was reeeeeally scared of the plane at first.  He cried and whimpered a lot.  I gave him a sucker to distract him, and that did the trick.  He had one other breakdown soon after that when the top of the sucker broke off into his mouth.  He had chewed through the stick!!  As soon as I noticed it, I stuck my finger in his mouth and grabbed it out of there.  Big time choking hazard.  But, you cannot explain that to a two-year-old.  He flipped out because I had taken his precious sucker a way.  After a minute or two of wailing, he calmed down.  Then, once the plane took off, he was all smiles and giggles!  I mean, BIG belly laughs. I’m still getting to know him, but one thing I have discovered so far is that his mood can change in an instant!

We’re still trying to settle into our new rooms here at the Garden Hotel.  We arrived here pretty late last night.  Our rooms aren’t as large as they were at the Sheraton in Guiyang.  But, I’m sure we’ll survive : )

Today, we are going to explore the area around our hotel a bit and we are also taking Haven to his medical exam (fun, fun!!!)  There will be a blood test involved.  I’m sure he will be THRILLED about that.

Thank you all for your continued prayers!

IMG_3925 IMG_3928 IMG_3941 IMG_3940 IMG_3934IMG_3943 IMG_3957 IMG_3953 IMG_3948 IMG_3952 IMG_3956 IMG_3973 IMG_3962photo

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anissa permalink
    May 19, 2014 2:46 am

    I had some time this evening to catch up on your blog. I loved all of the pictures and enjoyed learning about Haven’s personality. He is so cute and I just want to kiss him. We sure miss you guys and look forward to your return. We will keep praying. And tell Haven he looked so cute in his bib on the airplane – made me smile;)

Leave a Reply

