Skip to content

A Boy Named Haven

January 30, 2014
 hello-my-name-isHello, my name is Haven.  

I am from a province in Southwest China called Guizhou.  Guizhou is one of the poorest provinces in my country.

I was born on April 8, 2012.  

When my new mommy and daddy read through my file and discovered that my birthday fell on Easter Sunday in their country, they were thrilled.  They were thrilled because they have many photographs and memories of what they did on that day to celebrate that special holiday.  Little did they know at the time that their son was entering the world on that day.  Even though they couldn’t be there to welcome me into the world, they will always know what they did, how and where they worshiped, what they wore, and who they were with on that day.  They consider this to be an amazing gift.

My birth parents abandoned me on the same day that I was born.  Thankfully, a villager found me in a town called Minjianxiang and took me to the local police station.  The police took me to the local orphanage to be cared for while they performed a search for my birth family, as they do for all children who are abandoned.  They searched for about a month, but my birth parents could not be found.  So, the orphanage officially admitted me into their institution on May 7, 2012.  Someone at the orphanage chose a Chinese name for me.  They chose a family name (last name/surname) for me that is shorthand for Guizhou province – the place of my birth.  They chose my first and middle names because, together, those two Chinese characters mean “blessings in billowing waves”.  A very meaningful name.  My new parents think this name corresponds beautifully to the name that they have given to me, and also to the lighthouse imagery that they have been using to symbolize my adoption journey.  (Click here to learn more:  https://parksrecreation.wordpress.com/2014/01/05/billowing-waves/ )

I am still living in the orphanage today.

I don’t know anything about my birth parents.  But, I do know that they lived in a village in one of the poorest provinces in China.  This leads me to believe that they abandoned me for financial reasons.  They may have simply been too poor to keep me.  Or, they could have already had a child, and China’s one-child policy wouldn’t allow them to keep me.  Or, because of my small size as a newborn, they may have worried that I might not survive if I stayed in their care.  Whatever the case, I am grateful to my birth mother for carrying me to term in a country where abortions are readily available (and sometimes encouraged or forced).  I will always be thankful to her for the gift of life (and so will my new mommy and daddy!)

I am now 21 months old, and I am still pretty small for my age.  I weigh just shy of 18 pounds, and I’m only about 32.5 inches long.  I am currently wearing clothing that typically fits 9-12 month old babies.

A doctor has diagnosed me with a condition called Osteogenesis Imperfecta (Brittle Bone Disease).  But, thankfully, I am suffering from a mild form of the disease.  I am told that my bones might fracture more easily than other children.  I am also told that I will probably be slightly shorter than my friends.  But, that’s okay!  I am unable to walk right now, but with some therapy and lots of one-on-one attention, I hope to be running circles around my new brothers and sisters someday soon.  My new mommy and daddy have already begun to pray that my diagnosis is incorrect, and that maybe I am suffering from rickets (due to a calcium and vitamin D deficiency)….or simply malnourishment.  They are choosing to remain optimistic!

Despite my inability to walk at this point, I am able to move around by pushing my feet against the floor in my walker and scoot around the rooms in the orphanage.  I am in my walker a lot.  But, I think that’s because my nannies fear that I could fall and hurt myself by fracturing a bone if they let me out to play and toddle around on the uncarpeted floors.

I like one of my nannies, in particular.  I prefer my caretakers over the other children at the orphanage.  My favorite toys are a fish, a dog, and a cat.  I am clever.  I am active.  I am a good sleeper.  I enjoy listening to music.  And I enjoy going outdoors.

I have shown my new parents my beautiful smile.  They have eleven photographs of me, and I am smiling in eight of those photographs.  This makes them happy!  They are inspired by the fact that I am able to be content in my less-than-pleasant circumstances.

In seeing this joy that I have, they are reminded of these words:

“For I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:11-13)

My new mom and dad fell in love with me upon seeing me for the first time.  Ever since that time, their love for me has continued to grow, and their hearts have continued to soften toward me.  They can’t wait to bring me home – once and for all.

What a wonderful, wonderful day that will be.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2014 1:14 am

    Beautifully written!

  2. May 25, 2014 1:20 am

    Thanks so much, Julie!! : )

Leave a Reply

