Skip to content

Advent

November 26, 2013

IMG_9750ADVENT (n.) – An arrival or coming, especially one which is important and awaited.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last night, Bryan and I spent the evening clutching our cell phones.

We had been told late last week that a new list of Chinese children available for adoption would be released sometime between 7:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m.  If our agency could find us a match on the list and lock it in before another agency could, we would receive a call.  THE call.

If not, there would be no call.

So, we prayed.  We hoped.  We clutched.  We waited…and waited….and waited.

Silence.

No match.

I had told myself that I wouldn’t get my hopes up.  But, I did.  My excitement level was very high last night.

But, that excitement quickly turned to disappointment.

Once we realized that it would be futile to clutch and stare at our phones any longer, we decided to head to bed. Before we did, Bryan said a quick prayer of thanks for all of the blessings we already have.  Never do we want to be ungrateful for the many blessings that God has already given to us as we wait for Him to give us another one.  Yes, we were disappointed that we didn’t get to see Haven’s face last night.  But, we have much to be thankful for….and we wanted to tell that to Him, once again.

After he prayed, I fell asleep rather quickly.  And I slept peacefully through the night.

Shortly after waking up this morning, I walked into our bathroom and found a small note from Bryan stuck to the mirror.  On it, he had written those precious words from Jeremiah 29:11.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Man, I needed to hear that.

It’s a verse that has given me comfort time and time again throughout my life.  This morning was no different.

In addition to those words, I also needed to hear something else that came shortly after reading Bryan’s note.  It was an email from our pastor and friend…reminding us of the hopefulness we can have as we wait during this particular time of the year.

This season known as Advent.

This season of expectant waiting and preparation for the celebration of Christ’s arrival.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I know you both were waiting by the phone last night, anxiously and excitedly, for good news. And from all that I can piece together, the call did not come. From all that I can piece together, the waiting continues – that right now, Haven can still only be spoken of as coming your way sometime, at some point. Heartbreaking, I’m sure. 

But I suppose it’s the most hopeful time to be waiting, isn’t it? 

Advent. Coming. He was coming. We were waiting. And he came.

Advent breaks for Christmas. It will always break for Christmas moments.  

It is the advent of Haven, you could say.  You are waiting.  And God is good at making good on breaking each Advent we face with some slice of Christmas.  

So, we pray confidently, and I look forward to celebrating with you. “

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What encouragement I found in those words.

Tonight, I find myself giving thanks to God – in advance – for the ways that He will use these two coinciding seasons of Advent in our lives to speak to us in new and fresh ways.

Come, Jesus, come….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

